What is PRINCE2 Certification?

PRINCE2 Certification

Having the PRINCE2 certification is a valuable asset for any project manager. It eliminates stress and prepares a project manager for the challenges he or she will face. Additionally, it enhances remuneration packages. The certification makes it easier for a project manager to secure a well-paying job.

Practitioner level

The Practitioner level of PRINCE2 certification is available through a combination of online training and classroom training. Both courses take a total of 5 days, and the exam is administered by the trainer at the end of the course. It is important to note that both courses are valid for three years. You can retake the exam every three years if you want to maintain your credentials.

The Practitioner level is an advanced level of PRINCE2 certification that verifies the knowledge and practical skills of a project manager. It requires foundation certification, but also requires tailoring PRINCE2 knowledge to suit your particular role. This certification is suitable for Project Managers, Project Board members, Team managers, Operational Line Managers, and Support professionals.

The PRINCE2 certification can be taken by individuals or companies. Those working in project management should aim to attain the Practitioner level of certification. This certification can be obtained in a variety of ways, depending on the requirements of the project and the company.

Foundation level

PRINCE2 is a project management framework that offers various levels of certification. It is highly configurable and enables you to use a methodology that works for your specific needs. PRINCE2 Foundation Certification requires candidates to answer two out of four questions correctly. These questions are drawn from the PRINCE2 book and the Code of Ethics.

The PRINCE2 Foundation Certification teaches the principles and terminology of the PRINCE2 methodology. It also provides a basic understanding of the project management process, and the relationships between themes, products, and processes. The exam lasts four full days. During the course, you will learn about the principles of PRINCE2, and the best practices for managing projects.

The PRINCE2 Foundation level is designed for individuals who are already working in the project management field, or for those who would like to become project managers. This certification proves that you have the required skills to lead a project from conception to completion. It includes terminology that is used in all projects, and the fundamentals of the PRINCE2 methodology. The Foundation level also qualifies you to work in a project management team.

Exam requirements

Before taking the exam for PRINCE2 certification, it is important to understand the format of the exam. The exam covers the basics of the PRINCE2 methodology. It is an open book exam, and you may use the PRINCE2(r) Manual as a reference during the examination. Each examination consists of 50 to 68 questions that cover the entire syllabus.

The exam structure and style of the exam are similar for all three levels. Among other things, the exam asks candidates to define the roles of each team member and the seven principles and themes that underlie PRINCE2’s framework. It also requires students to state the purpose of each process and the relationship between the processes.

There is no specific passing score for the PRINCE2 certification. Taking the exam requires that you have sufficient knowledge in the areas covered by the textbook and have completed the training. The exam is valid for three years. However, it is recommended to take the exam at least four times to maintain the certification.

Validity of certificate

A PRINCE2 certification proves a project manager’s skill and competence. It is a globally recognized project management methodology and a professional with this certification is employable in almost any country. The qualification entails practical experience in the field of project management and does not depend on any educational criteria. The certification is offered at three different levels: practitioner, foundation, and advanced practitioner.

PRINCE2 certifications are valid for five years from the date of certification. PRINCE2 certifications are not valid for fewer than five years, unless the holder takes a new exam. However, PRINCE2 v2009 practitioners can opt to recertify using a shorter PRINCE2 ReRegistration test, which is valid only until the end of 2017.

The validity of a PRINCE2 certificate can be checked using the official online registry. It can be sorted by Exam Scheme, Candidate first and last names, Exam Date, and Candidate number. The register has been maintained by AXELOS, the company that owns the PRINCE2 certification scheme. This ensures that practitioners have up-to-date certification.